Fromberg was named Gebo after a man who opened the coal mines in this area. It was then renamed Fromberg for Slavic-American settlers. In earlier times, it was referred to as Poverty Flats because of the poor irrigation while the town waited for a new irrigation system. It is now a fruitful agricultural and trade center. Fromberg now stands where the winter camp of the OZ Cattle Company used to be. In 1893-1894, the Gebo Coal Mine was opened. The first post office was established in 1903 with Abraham Pierson as postmaster.
Fromberg is located in south-central Montana, southwest of Billings on U.S. Highway 212.