Located in the foothills of the Continental Divide, surrounded by the Beaverhead National Forest and Red Rocks Lake National Wildlife Refuge, is the small mountain community of Lakeview. Originally, named Shambow after its first postmaster. The post office was established in 1897 with George Shambow as postmaster, it closed in 1938.
Lakeview had its origins as a town built for freighters and railroad workers who depended on the Utah and Northern Railroad in the 1880's. Fifty to sixty people lived in the town and nearly that many more in a two or three mile radius. Nothing was considered permanent; and carpenters added and removed new buildings, depending on the needs of the constantly changing population. In the fall of 1880 the railroad moved its construction base to a site that is now known as Dillon.